Every diamond is wonderful in its own way, but there are some characteristics that makes it more or less beautiful for us. Even if each diamond it’s different from the others, it is possible to estimate its value using four specific features: carats, color, cut and purity. 

To help you choose the perfect diamond, please find below the description of the four characteristics defining a diamond, with the help of some tables. 


Carats are the unit of measure of the weight of the diamond, a carat corresponds to 0.20 grams.

Its name comes from the carob seed, used as a counterweight for small scales when measuring the weight of precious stones.


Color is measured on a scale from D to Z. 

The letter D corresponds to a light blue/white color, while the letter Z corresponds to a yellow color. The middle letters refer to more/less whitish shades of the stones.


The cut refers to the shape of the diamond and it comes from man-made processing. 

The round-cut diamond is the brightest cut as it reflects all the light absorbed by the stone. 


Purity depends from the inclusions inside the diamond. 

Inclusions can be defined as ‘natural imperfections’ like minerals or fractures that can be found inside the stone; these imperfections are mainly not visible to the nacked eye but only through a magnifying glass. 

The less inclusions a diamond has, the more valuable it is. 


If you have any other doubt, feel free to contact us: our experts are at your complete disposal!

Did you like this article? Click here to find many more!

Need more inspiration for your purchases? Take a look at our website!

Do you like this post? Share it on: